Get Information Main Page

 
MEMBER LOG IN
ABCT Facebook ABCT Twitter ABCT Instagram
 
Convention 2020

FREE Live Webinar July 9th

Stabilizing Chaos: Fostering Psychological Resilience in the Wake of Adverse Events

Presented by

Lata McGinn, Ph.D.

Yeshiva University

Cognitive & Behavioral Consultants

Register here for free!

Thursday, July 9, 2020

12:00 pm – 1:00 pm Eastern | 11:00 am – 12:00 pm Central

10:00 am – 11:00 am Mountain | 9:00 am – 10:00 am Pacific

In ABCT's continued effort to support our members, we are offering a free 1-hour webinar titled "Stabilizing Chaos: Fostering Psychological Resilience in the Wake of Adverse Events" on July 9, 2020. It is our hope that this information will be of assistance as we partner to meet the increased mental health needs of our community. The COVID-19 pandemic, the economic downturn, and the racist killing of George Floyd have led to national crises and have impacted all of our lives in unprecedented ways. For many in our communities, including essential workers and those who have lost family and friends as a result of the virus, the risk for trauma exposure is high. This webinar will offer practical strategies rooted in Psychological First Aid (PFA), an evidence-based approach for fostering resilience, helping people effectively cope in the aftermath of a trauma, and preventing the development of pathological symptoms. The webinar will also describe maladaptive coping that increases the chances of developing pathological symptoms and present CBT strategies that prevent onset of symptoms and help individuals adaptively cope with chronic stress. The goal of this webinar is to support clinicians to feel prepared to navigate the increase in trauma exposure and chronic stress that their clients may soon be, or already are, experiencing. Participants will learn common trauma reactions, risk and resilience factors, the components of PFA, how to apply PFA and other CBT principles during these crises in a virtual setting.

Please note that this webinar will not be eligible for CE credit.

For information please email us at membership@abct.org

ABCT 305 Seventh Ave Floor 16 New York, NY 10001

To unsubscribe please send an email to membership@abct.org with unsubscribe in the subject line. (You will still receive business and membership emails.)

click below for more helpful material, organized alphabetically
Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies
305 7th Avenue, 16th Fl., New York, NY 10001 · Phone (212) 647-1890 · Fax: (212) 647-1865
Copyright © 2003 - 2020 ABCT. All rights reserved